Meet The PAC

Meet the PAC (Parent Advisory Council)


Kasey Hulton

Hello All! I’m a mom of two kids, 2 and 5, who have a lot of energy. My oldest son, Dominic, just started kindergarten here at River Oaks Academy. This is our first year home schooling and we are thrilled with the experience so far. I own two businesses, one is a baking business and the other is a crafting business. I have worked in education in many different aspects and am looking forward to giving my time and experience to the wonderful families at River Oaks Academy.


candicetallentCandice Tallent

I live in Newbury Park with my husband, Brad, and two daughters: Danielle (12) and Ashley (9). We also share our home with 2 dogs, 2 birds, 1 fish, a tortoise named Lincoln, and a guinea pig!
I enjoy running, hiking, and spending time with my family. I feel blessed to be a stay-at-home mom as well as a homeschool mom, as our girls are growing up much too quickly.
Before starting a family, I worked as an interior designer specializing in model homes. I also served as a reserve police officer in the City of Santa Paula. At the time, I was lucky enough to work side-by-side in patrol right along with my husband!
As we eagerly begin our second year at ROA, I look forward to new friendships, serving others, and building a strong community.

marianasantangeloMariana Santangelo

I’m originally from Argentina, where I studied Theatre at the National Conservatory of Dramatic Arts and received a BA in Philosophy from the University of El Salvador. I lived in Buenos Aires, Madrid, Barcelona and New York before moving to SoCal in 2002. I was an actress and a teacher, among a few other odd jobs (!) and consider myself a life-long learner. I studied Screenwriting at UCLA and now write on a full time basis. I’ve been married to Damian – my personal superhero! – for 14 years. We have 2 boys: Lorenzo (12) and Franco (6) and 2 girls…: Pina (a Bichon mix) and Lola (a Border Collie mix). We live in Westlake Village and are usually all together in the same room… Last year, on a leap of faith, we decided to homeschool. There’s a saying that goes: «Leap and the net will appear». For us, that net has been River Oaks Academy and the amazing people working and studying here. I want to help this wonderful homeschool community to strive and create more social and learning opportunities, for both children and adults. I look forward to sharing this experience with the moms in PAC and to meeting many new families.

pamelakellerPamela Keller

I have lived most of my life in Ventura County. I was born in Germany; my parents lived there while my dad was in the army. Upon my parents return home to the U.S., I lived my early years in Pasadena. My family moved to Ventura County and I have lived in Oxnard, Camarillo and Ventura. I was an only child for almost 9 years, and happily welcomed a baby brother just four days before my birthday. I met my husband while working full-time in Accounting and pursuing a degree. I earned a Business Degree from CSUN, and also worked in Human Resources. My family now lives in Santa Rosa Valley, and I chose to be a stay-at-home mom once we had children. My two boys (ages 11 and 15) attended a traditional school, but now we have decided that River Oaks Academy will give us an excellent opportunity to homeschool with support from a community that has a passion for children to learn in a way that works best for them. I appreciate the time spent being a part of my boys’ education. In my free time I enjoy reading, yoga, gardening, photography, scrap booking, hiking and riding bikes at the beach with my boys. Most of our time lately is dedicated to renovating our home. I am looking forward to meeting others at River Oaks Academy and helping where I can.

chandralabergeChandra LaBerge

I was born and raised in Malibu and live with my husband and 2 children in the mountains off of Mulholland. Our son, Jameson, who is almost 7, has been at River Oaks for the last year and is now in 1st grade. Our daughter, Johanna is 4 and has just started River Oaks. We all thoroughly enjoy the program and look forward to meeting as many other families as we can and making long term friendships and connections. I have been a Realtor for the past 12 years which allows me not only a fulfilling career but also the flexibility to be available for my kids as much as needed. I am excited to be on the PAC and look forward to the years ahead!

This post is also available in: Inglés